2-part webinar from ALA: Serving Deaf Patrons in the Library

On the left, an illustration shows a white, blonde woman signing THANK-YOU in American Sign Language. On the right, a photo shows a white woman with glasses and light brown hair smiles into the camera. Text reads: Workshop: Serving Deaf Patrons in the Library with Kathy MacMillan. ALA Editions 2-part Webinar. Wednesdays, Sept 7 & 14, 2022, 1:30-3 PM Central time. Register at tinyurl.com/serving2022

Serving Deaf Patrons in the Library
A two-part webinar series taking place on Wednesdays, September 7 and 14, 2022 at 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific.

Library services are for everyone, and that includes the deaf community. In this workshop, Kathy MacMillan, librarian and certified American Sign Language interpreter, guides you in making your library a more welcoming place for patrons who are deaf or hard of hearing. You will gain an understanding of Deaf culture, learn library-related signs, and become prepared to confidently work with interpreters for your programs.

After participating in this workshop, you will have:

  • An understanding of how to meet your library’s legal obligation to serve deaf and hard of hearing patrons
  • Strategies for communicating with a deaf or hard of hearing person in the library
  • Video demonstrations and handouts for library-related signs, accessible for practice after the workshop
  • Tips for finding, hiring, and working with sign language interpreters
  • Knowledge of varieties of communication among deaf and hard of hearing people

Kathy MacMillan (she/her) is a writer, nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter, librarian, and signing storyteller. She has worked in school and public libraries for over 25 years. She writes fiction and nonfiction for children, teens, and adults, including the Little Hands Signing series from Familius Press and the Storytime Magic series from ALA Editions. She lives in Baltimore, MD. Find her online at KathyMacMillan.com or on Twitter and Instagram at @kathys_quill.

Register now!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.